Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster team named for Ospreys Pro12 trip

Ulster's Director of Rugby Les Kiss has named the Ulster team that will travel to Ospreys for Saturday's game.

Kiss has made three changes to the side knowing PRO12 playoff destiny still remains in their own hands with two regular season games remaining.

Ireland centre Stuart McCloskey, who returned from a three month injury layoff with an impressive second half cameo against Munster a fortnight ago, is drafted into the starting XV where he will partner Luke Marshall in midfield.

More: Franco: I can still have big say before Ulster exit

The other backline change sees fellow Irish international Craig Gilroy brought in at full back, where he will form an explosive back three partnership with Charles Piutau and captain Andrew Trimble.

The experienced half back pairing of Ruan Pienaar and Paddy Jackson remain in situ.

Robbie Diack is the sole change in the pack as he will slot in at number 8, where he will be flanked by Iain Henderson and Sean Reidy.

Kieran Treadwell and Alan O'Connor will continue their second row partnership for the fifth game in a row, while the front row of Andy Warwick, Rory Best and Wiehahn Herbst is also retained.

Paul Marshall, Stuart Olding and Jacob Stockdale provide strong backline options from the bench, while the forwards are also well backed up by Rob Herring, Callum Black, Rodney Ah You, Franco van der Merwe and Nick Timoney.

Ulster team & replacements to play Ospreys, Guinness PRO12, Saturday 29th February, Liberty Stadium (3.00pm kick-off, live on BBC NI & Sky Sports):

(15-9): C Gilroy, A Trimble (Capt), L Marshall, S McCloskey, C Piutau, P Jackson, R Pienaar;

(1-8): A Warwick, R Best, W Herbst, K Treadwell, A O'Connor, I Henderson, S Reidy, R Diack;

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, R Ah You, F van der Merwe, N Timoney, P Marshall, S Olding, J Stockdale.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph