Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster v Cardiff Blues: Paddy Jackson and Darren Cave included in squad for Kingspan clash

Ireland duo Paddy Jackson and Darren Cave have been included in Ulster's squad for the Guinness PRO12 tie against Cardiff Blues at Kingspan Stadium tomorrow night.

Having returned from World Cup duty this week, the pair have been named among the replacements, with Neil Doak making just two changes to his starting line-up.

After coming back from injury to earn a place on the bench last week, flyhalf Ian Humphreys will start his first competitive match of the season.

He will combine with Paul Marshall at half back and will have Stuart McCloskey and Sammy Arnold alongside him in midfield. The back three of Craig Gilroy, Andrew Trimble and Louis Ludik are retained.

Lewis Stevenson is the only change up front, taking the place of Dan Tuohy, who suffered from a concussion in the defeat to Edinburgh.

Franco van der Merwe is his partner in the second row.

Callum Black, captain Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst will continue in the front row, with Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy and Nick Williams again making up the back row.

Ricky Lutton and Peter Browne are newcomers to the bench, providing cover for the forwards along with John Andrew, Andrew Warwick and Willie Faloon. Cave and Jackson are also joined by scrumhalf David Shanahan.

The fixture will act as Ulster Rugby's annual charity match night in aid of Alzheimer's Society.

Tickets are still available on Ticketmaster.

Ulster v Cardiff Blues, Kingspan kick off 7.35pm

Ulster team: (15-9): Louis Ludik; Andrew Trimble, Sammy Arnold, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy; Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall; (1-8): Callum Black, Rob Herring (captain), Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy, Nick Williams;

Replacements: (16-23): John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ricky Lutton, Peter Browne, Willie Faloon, David Shanahan, Paddy Jackson, Darren Cave.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph