Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster's Pienaar crowned Heineken Personality of the Year - full list of winners

Ruan Pienaar was crowned as Heineken Personality of the Year at Ulster Rugby's annual Awards Dinner, which was held at Aquinas Grammar School on Saturday evening.

The hugely popular South African, who will leave the Province after next month's game against the Barbarians, was among 16 winners at the event, which celebrates rugby at all levels across Ulster.

Read More: Ruan Pienaar bids emotional farewell to Ulster

Ruan was acknowledged for his contribution to Ulster Rugby - on and off the field - over the past seven years. During that stint his performances, commitment and pride in the jersey have made him a true favourite among teammates, coaches, staff and supporters.

Pienaar, unsurprisingly, also won the Ulster Rugby Supporters Club Player of the Year.

Charles Piutau picked up the Bank of Ireland Player of the Year award, while Jacob Stockdale was BT Young Player of the Year.

Roger Wilson, who will also move on from Kingspan Stadium next month, received a special award for finishing his Ulster career as its most capped player, having made 221 appearances.


Hughes Insurance Academy Player of the Year

Ross Kane

Robert Lyttle

Jonny Stewart

SONI Community Rugby Champion Awards

John Curry (Randalstown RFC)

Susan Spence (City of Derry RFC)

Richard Black (City of Armagh RFC)

Gary McFarlane (Larne RFC)

Referee of the Year

Jonny Erskine

The Errigle Inn Women's Player of the Year

Lauren Maginnis (Cooke RFC)

Claire McLaughlin (Cooke RFC)

Ilse van Staden (Cooke RFC)

Ulster U18 Girls Player of the Year

Claire Boles (Enniskillen RFC)

Vicky Irwin (Ballynahinch RFC)

Neve Jones (Malone RFC)

Ulster Carpets Youth Player of the Year

Evin Crummie (City of Armagh RFC)

Jack McIntosh (Rainey Old Boys RFC)

Michael O'Neill (Rainey Old Boys RFC)

Danske Bank Schools' Player of the Year

James Hume (RBAI)

Michael Lowry (RBAI)

Stewart Moore (Ballymena Academy)

Dorrington B Faulkner Award (sponsored by Perennials RFC)

Dr Johnnie Neary

Ken Goodall Outstanding Club Player of the Year

Joe Dunleavy (City of Derry RFC)

John McCusker (Rainey Old Boys RFC)

Tommy O'Hagan (Rainey Old Boys RFC)

Kukri Sports Club of the Year

Armagh RFC

Ballynahinch RFC

Malone RFC

Omagh RFC

Virginia RFC

Ulster Rugby Supporters Club Player of the Year

Ruan Pienaar

Sean Reidy

Charles Piutau

Rugby Writers' Player of the Year

Charles Piutau

Sean Reidy

Jacob Stockdale

BT Young Player of the Year

Tommy O'Hagan

Jacob Stockdale

Kieran Treadwell

Bank of Ireland Ulster Player of the Year

Paddy Jackson

Charles Piutau

Sean Reidy

Heineken Ulster Rugby Personality of the Year

Ruan Pienaar

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph