Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Ulster Rugby's Rob Herring starts for Emerging Ireland

Ulster's Rob Herring has been named to start for the Emerging Ireland team in their third and final game of the IRB Tbilisi Cup in Georgia against Uruguay.

Rob makes his return to the XV at hooker after missing out on Tuesday’s selection to fellow Ulster player Niall Annett.

Annett has been named as first replacement with Ricky Lutton, Michael Heaney and Peter Nelson also being named on the bench.

In addition to the change at hooker, the young side makes three changes from their last outing, where they lost out 8-19 to South Africa President’s XV.

Eoin Griffin makes his return to the opening XV in the centre, while Dave O’Callaghan joins David Foley in the second row and Eoin McKeon makes his first start of the tournament in place of Ulster’s Robbie Diack, who is unavailable due to a calf injury.

Emerging Ireland v Uruguay - Sunday, June 16. KO 4pm local, 1pm BST.

15 - David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
14 - Niall Morris (Leicester/Exiles)
13 - Eoin Griffin (Galwegians/Connacht)
12 - Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)
11 - Tiernan O'Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht)
10 - Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
9 - John Cooney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1 - Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
2 - Robert Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
3 - Michael Bent (Leinster)
4 - Dave O’Callaghan (Dolphin/Munster)
5 - David Foley (UL Bohemian/Munster)
6 - Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s/Leinster)(Captain)
7 - Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
8 - Eoin McKeon (Galwegians/Connacht)

16 - Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
17 - Richard Lutton (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
18 - Ian Nagle (Cork Constitution/Munster)
19 - Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
20 - Michael Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
21 - Brendan Macken (Blackrock/Leinster)
22 - Peter Nelson (Dungannon/ Ulster)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph