| 2.2°C Belfast

Welsh duo named in Barbarians team


Martyn Williams

Martyn Williams

Martyn Williams

Martyn Williams and Iestyn Thomas have been named in the Barbarians' starting line-up to face Wales at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

Williams, 35, lost his place in the Wales team to Sam Warburton during the RBS 6 Nations but still harbours ambitions of playing at the World Cup.

Italy number eight Sergio Parisse continues as captain after leading the Barbarians to a 38-32 victory over England at Twickenham last Sunday.

Joe van Niekerk starts again at blindside flanker and Paul Tito continues in the second row, otherwise it is all change in the pack.

Toulon prop Carl Hayman and hooker Sebastien Bruno join Thomas in the front row, while Tito will pack down alongside Samoan Joe Tekori, who made such a decisive impact off the bench at Twickenham last weekend.

Clermont Auvergne fly-half Brock James and France international Sebastien Tillous-Borde form a new half-back combination for the Barbarians.

Leinster full-back Isa Nacewa starts at full-back, while Seru Rabeni starts at centre and former New Zealand wing Doug Howlett replaces Tim Visser.

Rugby Round Up Newsletter

Exclusives and expert analysis from the sports team straight to your inbox

This field is required

Willie Mason, the former Australia rugby league international, will continue his rugby union education off the bench.

Barbarians team: I Nacewa (Leinster and Fiji); P Sackey (Toulon and England), S Rabeni (La Rochelle and Fiji), M Bastareaud (Stade Francais and France), D Howlett (Munster and New Zealand); B James (Clermont Auvergne), S Tillous-Borde (Castres and France), I Thomas (Scarlets and Wales), S Bruno (Toulon and France), C Hayman (Toulon and New Zealand), J Tekori (Castres and Samoa), P Tito (Cardiff Blues), J van Niekerk (Toulon and South Africa), M Williams (Cardiff Blues and Wales), S Parisse (Stade Francais and Italy, capt).

Replacements: L Ghiraldini (Treviso and Italy), D Kubriashvili (Toulon and Georgia), E Lund (Biarritz and Norway), G Smith (Toulon and Australia), L Williams (Cardiff Blues), W Mason (Toulon), B Baby (Clermont Auvergne and France).


Top Videos