Belfast Telegraph

Ulster players on bench as Ireland announce team to face France

Ulster pair Ashleigh Baxter and Larissa Muldoon will start on the bench as Ireland look to make it through to the Women's Rugby World Cup semi-finals.

Only a win against France will do and Head Coach Tom Tierney has announced the squad for Thursday evening's Pool C game at the UCD Bowl (kick-off 7.45pm).

Lindsay Peat, Leah Lyons and Ailis Egan will start in the front row as Marie-Louise Reilly and Sophie Spence will line out in the second-row, with Ciara Griffin, Paula Fitzpatrick and Captain Claire Molloy in the back-row.

Nicole Cronin again partners out-half Nora Stapleton at half-back, with Sene Naoupu and Jenny Murphy forming the centre partnership.

Alison Miller and Eimear Considine line out on the wings, with Hannah Tyrrell at full-back.

Ahead of the French test, Tierney said: "We've had lots of tough games against France over the years and we know tomorrow evening is going to be no different. They have looked really good in their opening two games of the tournament and they'll be coming into this game full of confidence.

"It's a cup final tomorrow night, with a place in the Semi-Finals up for grabs, so we want the players to go out there and give it everything.  It won't be easy, but with the crowd behind them, they have the ability to claim a place in the final four.”

The game will be broadcast on television in the UK by ITV 4 and in the Republic of Ireland by Eir Sport and RTE.

Ireland team to face France

15. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

12. Sene Naoupu (Harlequins FC)

11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere RFC/Connacht)

10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

9. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

2. Leah Lyons (Highfield RFC/Munster)

3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

7. Claire Molloy (Bristol RFC/Connacht) Captain

8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College RFC/Leinster)


16. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

17. Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)

18. Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)

19. Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke RFC/Ulster)

20. Heather O'Brien (Highfield RFC/Munster)

21. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)

22. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

23. Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph