Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby World Cup

2019 Rugby World Cup: Ireland to face hosts Japan and Scotland

Ireland have been drawn in Pool A at the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan and will face the hosts.

The draw was made on Wednesday morning at the Kyoto State Guest House in Japan.

As well as Japan, Ireland will take on Scotland in the group and another play-off winner.

Elsewhere,  England will face France and Argentina. Wales have been drawn against Australia and Georgia.

New Zealand, South Africa and Italy have been drawn in Group B.

For the first time in tournament history, Ireland were among the top seeds and avoided the likes of New Zealand, Australia and Six Nations champions England.

A number of spots are still to be filled depending on play-off games and qualifiers.

The Draw

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, Play-off winner

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, Repechage winner

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph