Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup: Ireland team named for Romania tie

Ulster's Tommy Bowe, Jared Payne, Darren Cave and Chris Henry are to start in Ireland's Rugby World Cup tie against Romania.

Joe Schmidt has made 12 changes for Sunday's Wembley Pool D clash.

Ian Madigan has been named ahead of Paddy Jackson while Simon Zebo, Tommy Bowe and Darren Cave come into the backline.

Robbie Henshaw has failed to recover from hamstring trouble in time to make his World Cup debut against Romania on Sunday.

Ulster centre Darren Cave slots in at 12, where Luke Fitzgerald had deputised for Henshaw at the Millennium Stadium.

Only Jared Payne, Keith Earls and match-day captain Jamie Heaslip are retained from the starting line-up against Canada.

And Cian Healy makes his first Test start since neck surgery in May, having returned off the bench against the Canucks in Cardiff.

Full squad to face Romania, kick-off 4.45pm:

15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Darren Cave, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Eoin Reddan.

1 Cian Healy, 2 Richardt Strauss, 3 Nathan White, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 5 Devin Toner, 6 Jordi Murphy, 7 Chris Henry, 8 Jamie Heaslip (captain).

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Paul O'Connell, 20 Sean O'Brien, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Rob Kearney.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph