Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Young Boks included for trip

Twenty-year-olds Patrick Lambie and Elton Jantjies were amongst six uncapped players named in the South Africa squad for their Grand Slam tour of Britain and Ireland next month.

The Springbok selectors also named back Lwazi Mvovo and forwards Willem Alberts, Keegan Daniel and Coenie Oosthuizen in his 30-man list for their five-match trip that kicks-off next weekend.

Victor Matfield, the regular vice-captain of the team, will lead the squad in the absence of John Smit, who is out injured, with Juan Smith his deputy.

Other senior players named include Schalk Burger, Bryan Habana, CJ van der Linde, Bakkies Botha and Bismarck du Plessis, while overseas-based duo Ruan Pineaar of Ulster and Racing Metro's Frans Steyn will also travel despite their omission from the preliminary 39-man party named two weeks ago.

South Africa squad for end-of-year tour of Britain and Ireland:

Backs: Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Ricky Januarie, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn.

Forwards: Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ryan Kankowski, Victor Matfield, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Juan Smith, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe.


From Belfast Telegraph