| 3.9°C Belfast

Sean Tobin takes shock Northern Ireland all-comers record with 10k victory at Mary Peters Track



Sean Tobin secured a record over the weekend.

Sean Tobin secured a record over the weekend.

©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Catherine Whoriskey secured victory at Comber

Catherine Whoriskey secured victory at Comber


Sean Tobin secured a record over the weekend.

Top Irish long distance international Sean Tobin took nearly a minute off his personal best time when he set an unexpected NI all-comers record over 10,000 metres at the weekend's quality event at the Mary Peters Track.

The 26-year-old athlete was, along with a number of other top runners, taking full advantage of the temporary easing of lockdown restrictions in Northern Ireland.

Tobin crossed the line in a new record of 28 mins 30.91 secs which is the fastest time by an Irish athlete since 2009 when Martin Fagan ran 27.58.48 in California.

Fast times were always on the cards when a trio comprising Tobin, Brian Fey of Raheny and DSD's Tonosa Hiko fought a tight duel from the gun. They only split up with a mile to go when Tobin broke away to secure an 11 seconds victory.

The Clonmel man was the first Irish finisher in 17th place in the Euro Cross Country in Lisbon a year ago. His Belfast performance is the fastest time on Irish shores since 1986.

Second place went to Fey in a personal best of 28.41.70 with Andrew Coscoran of Star of the Sea making a late charge to also set a personal best of 29.01.21. Next was Hiko in 29 mins 6 secs.

Eighteen-year-old Tadgh Donnelly of Drogheda was unfortunate to just miss an Irish Junior record by two seconds when he finished seventh in 30.19.63. Mourne's Andrew Annett was the first northern finisher in eighth with 31 mins 21 secs.

Eleventh place went to former Northern Ireland cross country champion Mark McKinstry whose supreme fitness was emphasised yesterday when he took victory in the much delayed Bobby Rea Memorial Cross Country at Comber.

McKinstry, of North Belfast, won the 4K event in 12 mins 4 secs, some five seconds ahead of North Down's Craig McMeechan. Third place went to East Down's Aaron McGrady in 12.25 followed by Conor Maguire of Monaghan Phoenix (12.33).

The ladies race was won, as expected, by Irish international Catherine Whoriskey of City of Derry.

Niamh Carr of Ballymena was runner up followed by Caitlyn Harvey (Lagan Valley ) and Katie Moore (North Down).

Belfast Telegraph