| 2.6°C Belfast

Sittuk surges to front to retain half marathon title


Freddy Sittuk

Freddy Sittuk


Freddy Sittuk

Freddy Sittuk easily retained his Lisburn Half Marathon title as he led home the usual huge field of some 1,200 competitors in benign weather conditions.

The Kenyan's winning time of 1hr 11mins 38secs over a difficult course was over four minutes slower than last year when the 2014 Belfast Marathon champion had to fend off Irish marathon runner Sean Hehir.

This time Sittuk controlled the race from the start and at the finish had a clear winning margin over Willowfield's Brian Campbell who was timed at 71mins 54secs.

North Belfast's Andrew Annett took third in 72.23 followed by Newry's Don Travers in 76.58.

Irish Marathon runner Catriona Jennings of Rathfarnham took the Ladies title in 81.19 ahead of North Belfast's Cathy McCourt (82.02),Laura Graham (84.10) and Northern Ireland marathon record holder Teresa Duffy of Beechmount (84.37).

The 10k event was won by Annadale's Ryan McDermott in 31mins 21secs just 10 seconds ahead of team-mate Paddy Hamilton. Third place went to Lisburn's Chris Madden in 32.10.

Titanic 10k runner-up Natasha Adams of Letterkenny was an impressive winner of the ladies race in a time which was just outside her PB of 35.09 which gained her 15th overall place.

Belfast Telegraph