Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards 2015: The Dr Malcolm Brodie Award will go to a special player

By Frank Brownlow

The battle for the prestigious Dr Malcolm Brodie Player of the Year accolade promises to be even more fierce than usual.

The Award, in honour of the Belfast Telegraph's legendary former Sports Editor, was won last year by rugby star Andrew Trimble following his stunning performances for Ulster and Ireland.

Former winners include big names like Rory Best, Michael Dunlop, Ryan Farquhar, Glenn Ferguson, Sean Cavanagh and Stephen Ferris.

The Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards identify outstanding sporting achievement and recognise individuals and teams making a unique contribution to Ulster Sport.

The winners of the 2015 Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards - supported by main sponsor Linwoods - will be announced at a glittering bash at the Ramada Hotel, Belfast on January 25.

Carl Frampton is on top of the boxing world. The world super-bantamweight champion has been making headlines after securing the much-anticipated domestic blockbuster with Scott Quigg in Manchester in February.

The Belfast fighter has powered his way to boxing's premier league with more triumphs in 2015, stopping Chris Avalos in Belfast and jetting to Texas for a hard-earned points verdict against Alejandro González Jr.

In the amateur ranks, Michael Conlan achieved a unique feat when he became the first Irishman to win a world title, beating Murodjon Akhmadaliev of Uzbekistan in the bantamweight final in Doha last month.

Ulster has consistently made a splash in rowing and this year 21-year-old Joel Cassells - from the Coleraine conveyor belt - won lightweight pairs gold at the World Championships in France in September.

Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop are two of the finest Paralympians on the planet, with both striking gold at last month's IPC World Championships in Doha.

Smyth took gold in the 100m, retaining his title in a time of 10.62 seconds, making him the fastest Paralympian on earth. The 28-year-old opted out of defending his 200m crown to be with his wife Elise for the birth of their first child.

McKillop (25) bagged a middle distance double in the 800m and 1500m.

In the Irish League, Crusaders won their first title since 1997, with the stand-out contribution coming from Paul Heatley.

In GAA, Mattie Donnelly helped Tyrone power their way to the All-Ireland semi-finals. Donnelly was rewarded with an All-Star and also played for Ireland in the International Rules win over Australia at Croke Park.

In rugby, Ulster's Rory Best, Chris Henry, Iain Henderson, Tommy Bowe, Jared Payne, Darren Cave and Paddy Jackson were in the Ireland squad that made it through to the quarter-finals of the World Cup.

We're sure you'll have your own contenders - and we'd love to hear about them.

To vote visit

Also named on the night will be the winner of the Special Recognition Award.

Last year there were joint winners with boxers Paddy Barnes and Michael Conlan recognised for taking gold at the Commonwealth Games.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph