Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

Strabane man Stephen Maguire wins BBC Coach of the Year at Sports Personality awards

Strabane man Stephen Maguire has won BBC's Coach of the Year award, along with his partners Benke Blomkvist and Christian Malcolm, at Sports Personality of the Year.

Maguire helped GB's men's 4x100m team to World gold while all four of Britain's relay teams won medals during the summer's World Championships.

Maguire is Head Coach for Sprints,Hurdles and Relays and was previously Director of Athletics for Scotland.

Meanwhile, Ballyclare's World Superbikes champion Jonathan Rea was BBC Sports Personality of the Year runner-up, behind Mo Farah. Paralympian Jonnie Peacock was third.

Award winners

BBC Sports Personality of the Year: Mo Farah

Team of the Year: England Women's cricket team

Coach of the Year Award: Benke Blomkvist, Stephen Maguire and Christian Malcolm

Overseas Sports Personality of the Year: Roger Federer

Lifetime Achievement award: Jessica Ennis-Hill

BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year: Phil Foden

The Helen Rollason award: Bradley Lowery

Unsung Hero award: Denise Larrad

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph