Sunday Life

| 18.8°C Belfast

Davey Todd smashes course record as he grabs ‘Race of Legends’ glory at the Armoy Road Races


Davey Todd en route to ‘Race of Legends’ glory

Davey Todd en route to ‘Race of Legends’ glory

Davey Todd takes the applause at Armoy

Davey Todd takes the applause at Armoy

Jamie Coward wins a thrilling Supertwin race from Michael Sweeney and Paul Jordan

Jamie Coward wins a thrilling Supertwin race from Michael Sweeney and Paul Jordan


Davey Todd en route to ‘Race of Legends’ glory

Davey Todd pulverised the lap record at the Bayview Hotel Armoy Road Races yesterday and became only the third winner of the ‘Race of Legends’ finale since it was first held in 2010.

Ryan Farquhar won the inaugural running of the blue riband Superbike race before Michael Dunlop took control, winning the event a record nine times in a row.

Dunlop was missing from his home race meeting in Co Antrim yesterday after pulling out of the event on Friday morning.

The 33-year-old said he had not received “fair and equal” treatment — a claim the Armoy organisers steadfastly denied.

Dunlop’s absence was a disappointment to the many local fans who had hoped to cheer him on to a 10th ‘Race of Legends’ triumph yesterday, but Todd produced the kind of powerhouse performance the Armoy crowds have been used to seeing from Dunlop in recent years.

The 26-year-old Yorkshireman clinched a four-timer and obliterated the lap record several times, eventually setting a new mark of 108.534mph. His time of 1m 39.773s was 1.5s faster than Dunlop’s 2021 lap record of 106.945mph.

It was also the first 108mph lap of the Armoy course, coming after Todd had clocked the first 107mph lap on his way to pole on Friday.

“Last year, we pulled the Wilson Craig Honda out of someone’s living room and finished second in the ‘Race of Legends’ behind Michael,” Todd said.

“We literally stuck tyres on it and put fuel in it, and went racing.

“But this year, the Milenco by Padgett’s Honda Fireblade is just unbelievable. I’d never ridden a proper Superbike before but the thing is awesome,” he added.

“With me riding in the Superstock 1000 Championship every weekend, people might have thought it would have made more sense to ride the ’stocker at Armoy, but I just love the Superbike.

“It gets better every time we go out on it and we literally made no changes to it coming from the Southern 100.

“The team just do a mega job and it makes my job that much easier — I don’t have any excuses because the bikes are so good. It’s just been mega to come back to Armoy and nice to get the results.”

After blasting the lap record twice in a row in the ‘Race of Legends’, Todd was already over nine seconds ahead of Derek Sheils on the Roadhouse Macau BMW.

He was able to slacken his pace and close out a commanding win by 8.8s from Michael Sweeney (MJR BMW), who came through to seal the runner-up spot ahead of Sheils. England’s Phil Crowe was fourth on his BMW ahead of Burrows Suzuki rider Mike Browne.

Todd won the first Open Superbike race in record-breaking style, smashing the lap record with a best speed of 107.811mph.

He took the flag with 3.4s in hand over Sheils, with Sweeney on his own in third. Browne edged out Crowe for fourth place on the last lap.

Todd was made to work hardest in the damp conditions in the opening Supersport race, when Ballymoney man Darryl Tweed nosed ahead on corrected time after starting from the second group.

However, when it mattered on the final lap, Todd came out on top by 0.3s from Tweed (Wilson Craig Honda), with Adam McLean taking a fine third on his Yamaha.

On dry roads in the second Supersport race, Todd led all the way to win by 5.1s from McLean, with Derek Sheils (McAdoo Kawasaki) getting the better of Browne for third on the last lap.

Armoy newcomer and leading TT rider Jamie Coward claimed a double, winning the Classic Superbike race comfortably from Crowe.

Later, the Yorkshireman had to pull out all the stops to win a three-way fight in a sizzling Supertwin race from Sweeney and Paul Jordan, with the trio separated on the line by 0.023s.

On a trying day for the organisers, a number of red-flag incidents led to significant delays, but no serious injuries were reported.


(Diamond Bar/Mermaid Club Lightweight Supersport/250GP (6 laps)

1 K Ryan (Yamaha 450) 12m 41.813s; 2 D Tweed (Kawasaki 400) +18.907s; 3 K Duncan (Kawasaki 400) +25.613s; 4 J Watt (Kawasaki 400) +25.725s; 5 S Tobin (Yamaha 400) +39.287s; 6 D Ingham (Hon2.192s; da 400) +41.118s. Fastest lap: Ryan 86.309mph

Hilton Car Sales Supersport 1 (6 laps)

1 D Todd (Honda) 11m 44.225s; 2 D Tweed (Honda) 0.315s; 3 A McLean (Yamaha) +0.611s; 4 D Herbertson (Kawasaki) +1.074s; 5 P Jordan (Yamaha) +1.867s; 6 M Browne (Yamaha) +2.192s; 7 D Sheils (Kawasaki) +7.899s; 8 M Sweeney (Yamaha) +19.909s. Fastest lap: McLean 94.520mph

Torra Homes/James McKillop Junior
Support (5 laps)

1 J Watt (Kawasaki 700) 10m 02.012s; 2 M Simpson (Kawasaki 650) +0.251s; 3 A O’Carroll (Kawasaki 650) +13.541s; 4 D Ingham (Aprilia 660) +26.279s; 5 R Whitehall (Kawasaki 650) +47.048s; 6 D Walsh (Kramer 690) +48.295s. Fastest lap: Simpson 91.258mph

MJF Construction Classic 250 (6 laps)

1 R Ford (Suzuki) 14m 13.222s; 2 B Mateer (Suzuki) +0.979s; 3 C Meyer (Morbidelli) +27.651s; 4 RJ Woolsey (Suzuki) +46.115s. Fastest lap: Mateer 78.817mph

Steadplan Sales Classic
Superbike (7 laps)

1 J Coward (Kawasaki 750) 13m 11.215s; 2 P Crowe (Kawasaki 750) +9.979s; 3 D Bell (Yamaha 1000) +11.599s; 4 B Furber (Suzuki 750) +24.042s; 5 D Ingham (Suzuki 750) +50.118s; 6 D Wilson (Kawasaki 750) +1m 19.759s. New lap record: Coward 97.410mph

Lunneys Electrical Moto3/125GP (5 laps)

1 M Browne (Honda M3) 10m 28.510s; 2 J Thompson (Honda M3) +10.062s; 3 C Meyer (Honda 125) +23.672s; 4 M Love (Honda M3) +1m 05.039s. Fastest lap: Browne 88.364mph

BDS Motorcycles Supersport 300 (5 laps)

1 B Davidson (Honda 300) 11m 04.259s; 2 D Tweed (Kawasaki 300) +15.816s; 3 M Johnson (Yamaha 300) +27.656s. New lap record: Davidson 82.436mph

BlueSky Resource Recovery
Supersport 2 (7 laps)

1 D Todd (Honda) 12m 23.981s; 2 A McLean (Yamaha) +5.119s; 3 D Sheils (Kawasaki) +6.428s; 4 M Browne (Suzuki) +7.203s; 5 D Herbertson (Kawasaki) +10.014s; 6 P Jordan (Yamaha) +10.244s; 7 J Coward (Yamaha) +10.259s; 8 G Kennedy (Yamaha) +31.121s. Fastest lap: Todd 103.198mph

MJF Construction Junior Classic (7 laps)

1 I Lougher (Honda 350) 15m 35.594s; 2 J Leigh-Pemberton (Honda 350) +8.881s; 3 A Hornby (Honda 350) +13.390s; 4 L Murphy (Honda 350). Fastest lap: Lougher 82.273mph

Euro Autospare Open Superbike (7 laps)

1 D Todd (Honda) 11m 57.232s; 2 D Sheils (BMW) +3.686s; 3 M Sweeney (BMW) +13.973s; 4 M Browne (Suzuki) +15.834s; 5 P Crowe (BMW) +16.211s; 6 J Coward (Yamaha) +31.758s; 7 D Herbertson (Kawasaki 600) +42.342s; 8 G Kennedy (BMW) +49.262s. New lap record: Todd 107.811mph

Tilesplus Senior Classic (7 laps)

1 P Jordan (Yamaha TX500) 14m 20.147s; 2 A Hornby (Triumph 750) +6.303s; 3 D Herbertson (Yamaha TX500) +31.433s; 4 R Ford (Norton 920) +32.990s. New lap record: Herbertson 89.869mph

Galgorm Supertwin (5 laps)

1 J Coward (Kawasaki) 9m 16.112s; 2 M Sweeney (Kawasaki) +0013s; 3 P Jordan (Kawasaki) +0.023s; 4 B Furber (Yamaha) +13.257s; 5 J Thompson (Kawasaki) +18.747s; 6 J Watt (Kawasaki) +29.398s. New lap record: Jordan 99.249mph.

Park Electrical Services Senior Support (5 laps)

1 K Ryan (Kawasaki 650); 9m 15.812s; 2 M Simpson (Kawasaki 600) +3.026s; 3 A O’Carroll (Kawasaki 600) +9.096s; 4 D Lacey (Kawasaki 600) +24.522s. New lap record: Simpson 99.178mph

Bayview Hotel Race of Legends (7 laps)

1 D Todd (Honda) 11m 54.216s; 2 M Sweeney (BMW) +8.863s; 3 D Sheils (BMW) +9.586s; 4 P Crowe (BMW) +16.214s; 5 M Browne (Suzuki) +17.132s; 6 J Coward (Yamaha 600) +33.843s; 7 D Herbertson (Kawasaki 600) +42.536s; 8 G Kennedy (BMW) +42.781s. New lap record: Todd 108.534mph

Related topics

Top Videos