Belfast Telegraph

Start spreading the news about Mike


BALLYGOWAN rider Michael Pearson is a lookalike for the young Frank Sinatra and he has certainly proved that doing it "my way" pays off for he is now leading the Irish Superbike championship after two blistering wins at Bishopscourt yesterday.

Pearson was in tremendous form in the first race which he won by virtually a distance from Declan Swanton and Marshall Neill but Pearson had tougher opposition in the second race when Kirk Jamison led for part of the race before Pearson got to grips with him near the finish.

It was nip and tuck before Pearson established his authority and relegated Jamison to second with Denver Robb third.

Pearson couldn't believe that he had leapt up the championship table so quickly.

"So I'm half a point ahead of Swanton," he said. "That's terrific, especially after the previous round at Mondello where I didn't have the best of days."

Swanton, who was the championship leader up until yesterday, blotted his copybook when he crashed but was unhurt in the second race.

Pearson won't be going to Mondello next weekend for the British Superbike championship but one man who can't wait is Alastair Seeley who rolled off two supremely confident Supersport wins yesterday and now rides in the Superstock

championship next Sunday.

"I can't wait for it," said Seeley, whose best performance this year by far was to take second place to Bruce Anstey in the Superstock race at the North West 200.

RESULTS: Irish Superbike championship: Race 1: 1, Michael Pearson; 2, Declan Swanton; 3, Marshall Neill.

Race 2: 1, Michael Pearson; 2, Kirk Jamison; 3, Denver Robb.

Supersport 600 Race 1: 1, Alastair Seeley; 2, James Dickson; 3, Richie Ryan.

Race 2: 1, Alastair Seeley; 2, David Haire; 3, Matthew Percy.

125cc Race 1: 1, Mark Lunney; 2, Nigel Percy; 3, Stephen Kelly.

Race 2: 1, Mark Lunney; 2, Nigel Percy; 3, James Maguire.

Lightweight Supersport Race 1: 1, Lee Hill; 2, Alan Brown; 3, Alan Glasgow.

Race 2: 1, Lee Hill; 2, Alan Brown; 3, Alan Glasgow.

250cc Race 1: 1, Ian Morrell; 2, Thomas Lawlor; 3, Chris McAloran.

Race 2: 1, Chris McAloran; 2, Ian Morrell; 3, Thomas Lawlor.


From Belfast Telegraph