Belfast Telegraph

Sunday Life

Steven Davis to Jonny Evans: Have your say on Northern Ireland's team of the decade

Who makes your Northern Ireland team of the decade?
Who makes your Northern Ireland team of the decade?

It's been a memorable 10 years for Northern Ireland with the Euro 2016 finals the undoubted highlight. But which 18 players make it into your squad of the decade?

In this weekend's Sunday Life, former international defender Gareth McAuley and SL Sports Editor Paul Ferguson pick their starting XIs and seven substitutes. In the coming weeks, more Northern Ireland heroes will add their opinions but what's yours?

Have a look through the 84 players who have featured for the GAWA since 2010 and select your squad.

Tweet your results to @SundayLifeSport, including your starting XI, seven substitutes and your formation. Make sure to use #NITeamoftheDecade and see how your squad matches up to McAuley's.

We'll just assume your manager is Michael O'Neill.

Northern Ireland's 84 players of the 2010s

Goalkeepers (10): Alan Blayney, Lee Camp, Roy Carroll, Trevor Carson, Conor Hazard, Alan Mannus, Michael McGovern, Bailey Peacock-Farrell, Maik Taylor, Jonny Tuffey

Defenders (23): Chris Baird, Ciaron Brown, Alex Bruce, Chris Brunt, Craig Cathcart, Colin Coates, Stephen Craigan, Michael Duff, Jonny Evans, Tom Flanagan, Lee Hodson, Aaron Hughes, Daniel Lafferty, Jamal Lewis, Rory McArdle, Gareth McAuley, Luke McCullough, Ryan McGivern, Conor McLaughlin, Ryan McLaughlin, James McPake, Michael Smith, Adam Thompson

Sign In

Midfielders (28): Adam Barton, Michael Bryan, Josh Carson, Sammy Clingan, Stuart Dallas, Steven Davis, Liam Donnelly, Corry Evans, Shane Ferguson, Ethan Galbraith, Robert Garrett, Jonny Gorman, Jordan Jones, Matty Lund, Alfie McCalmont, Grant McCann, Paddy McCourt, Niall McGinn, Paddy McNair, Jamie Mulgrew, Oliver Norwood, Michael O'Connor, Paul Paton, Ben Reeves, George Saville, Jonny Steele, Jordan Thompson, Carl Winchester

Forwards (23): Liam Boyce, Kevin Braniff, Warren Feeney, Will Grigg, David Healy, Andy Kirk, Kyle Lafferty, Shane Lavery, James Lawrie, Andrew Little, Josh Magennis, Shay McCartan, Billy McKay, Josh McQuoid, Jordan Owens, Martin Paterson, Rory Patterson, Dean Shiels, Kyle Vassell, Jamie Ward, Conor Washington, Gavin Whyte, Paul Smyth

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph