Belfast Telegraph

Sunday Life named Newspaper of the Year at CIPR Northern Ireland Media Awards

By Christopher Woodhouse

Your favourite Sunday read has been named the overall Newspaper of the Year at the prestigious Coca-Cola CIPR Northern Ireland Media Awards.

Sunday Life also scooped the best Sunday Newspaper of the Year award at the ceremony in the MAC theatre in Belfast on Friday night.

Our Chief Reporter Ciaran Barnes was named the Newspaper Journalist of the Year and overall Journalist of the Year.

In their citation, the judges said of Sunday Life: “If anyone says that lively, investigative and entertaining journalism is on the way out then they should look to Belfast where Sunday Life has it covered.

“It is constantly breaking stories and buffers this with lively features that are interesting to read. It also has an excellent layout.”

The judges praised Ciaran, saying he writes “Gritty, classic tabloid journalism at its best. His exposé of dangerous paedophile brothers being rehoused near a school without any parental warnings rightly sparked public anger.

“His candid, eyebrow- raising interview with a woman seduced and made pregnant by a prominent Roman Catholic priest sent more shockwaves through the church hierarchy and his exposé of the UVF’s continuing involvement in murder, crime and corruption 20 years after the ceasefire was important and courageous investigative journalism.”

The local awards come just weeks after Sunday Life was named the best regional newspaper in the UK at the Society of Editors Regional Press Awards in London.

Reporter Patricia Devlin also won the Reporter of the Year and Scoop of the Year, with her puppy farm exposé winning the people’s choice Making a Difference award.

At Friday’s awards, our sister paper, the Belfast Telegraph, took the Daily Newspaper of the Year Award and Digital News Platform of the Year Award. Belfast Telegraph

editor Gail Walker was named Columnist of the Year.

Sunday Life and Belfast Telegraph boxing correspondent David Kelly won Sports Journalist of the Year with Maureen Coleman taking Specialist Journalist of the Year and John Mulgrew

winning Business Journalist of the Year. Sunday Life columnist Ivan Little was Feature Journalist of the Year.

Downtown Radio DJ Big T, a Sunday Life columnist, was named Radio DJ of the Year. Pete Snodden won the Entertainment Presenter category.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph