Belfast Telegraph

Home Travel

The 230 airlines banned from European skies

Iraqi Airways was today added to the EU air safety list

By Claire Cromie

The EU’s air safety regulator has today updated its list of airlines that are banned from flying in European skies.

Iraqi Airways is the latest addition to the no-fly list. It operated routes from London Gatwick, Manchester, Belgium, France, Germany, Spain and Portugal.

The Commission and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) cited "unaddressed safety concerns" behind its inclusion.

The European Commission says the EU air safety list - which now totals 230 airlines - is essential "to guarantee the highest level of air safety for European citizens".

Remarkably, 59 Indonesian airlines are currently banned from flying in EU airspace.

No air carriers from Thailand were added to the list, despite concerns over flight safety that led to Thai airlines being placed under "special measures" by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

All airlines from the following countries are banned:


Angola (with the exception of TAAG Angola, which operates under restrictions and conditions)


Republic of the Congo

Democratic Republic of the Congo


Equatorial Guinea


Gabon (with the exception of Afrijet and SN2AG, which operate under restrictions and conditions)

Indonesia (with the exception of Garuda Indonesia, Ekspres Transportasi Antarbenua and Indonesia Air Asia)

Kazakhstan (with the exception of Air Astana, cleared today)

The Kyrgyz Republic





São Tomé and Príncipe

Sierra Leone



As well as the following individual airlines:

Blue Wing Airlines, Suriname

Iraqi Airways

And these airlines have operational restrictions:

TAAG Angola Airlines

Air Service Comores

Afrijet, Gabon

Nouvelle Air Affaires, Gabon

Gabon SN2AG

Iran Air

Air Koryo, North Korea

Air Madagascar

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph