| 18.1°C Belfast

Successful satellite launch for SpaceX Falcon 9


The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket has successfully launched from Cape Canaveral, Florida on Tuesday evening.The 70 meter rocket contained the AMOS-17 satellite which will provide internet, phone and secure communications to the Middle East, Africa, and Europe. It will now orbit the earth with a life expectancy of 20 years. The launch window opened at 6:53 p.m. EDT, or 22:53 UTC, and closes at 8:21 p.m. EDT, or 00:21 UTC on August 7. The satellite was deployed approximately 31 minutes after liftoff.

Most Watched Videos